A popular Japanese snack- The Yaki Nori. Yaki Nori are roasted seaweed sheets made initial for sushi/kappa/temaki rolls… and now increasingly popular as a regular snack.

The more famous packaging that I’m more familiar with looks like this:

regular.jpg

Since young, I can easily finish about 5 strips in one go. Opening one or two is just not enough, anything more than 5 is just adding more msg into my system, hence five(5).

Although, I have been faithfully buying this snack, I have to admit that, it has not been all that easy… the annoying part is the opening part, imagine you are half way through your snack, enjoying it, but it has to be interrupted – interrupted because the portion is just not enough… and then you waste another minute or two just to open another one, and another one and so on…

I believe that I am not the only one experiencing this problem… and the issue has been brought forward to the manufacturers.

The other day, I saw my colleague snacking bigger sheets of seaweeds, naturally, I was intrigued and went to approach her to see what brand it was… I almost fell off the ground laughing when I saw the big labeled text that says “BIG SHEET”.

big_sheet.jpg

It is indeed one “BIG SHEET”, bringing better portion compared to its predecessor, but to be honest, the next time I have cravings for seaweeds, I will probably think twice before I ask someone a favor to buy me 1 BIG SHEET. And YES, I will get my Big Sheet but I’m sure it wont come so easily… without going through the extra humiliation beforehand.

